Michelle Cervellin and Chihiro Notsuka fought their CRF250RWs through the deepening PangKal Pinang mud as they took to the track today for the first time in qualifying.

MX2 were the first out today and although the conditions were tough both Cervellin and Notsuka put in one good lap each which given the change in schedule today by Youthstream, gave the young rookies a strong start for tomorrow’s race.

With the track conditions fast deteriorating following practise, Youthstream made the decision to use the practice times for the gate pick instead of holding any further races today. This way the track will be in the best shape it can be for tomorrow.

The MX2 race starts tomorrow at 12:15 (local time) providing the weather holds out overnight.

Michele Cervellin 747

I am disappointed we are not racing qualifying this afternoon but hopefully we will have no more rain and the track will be ok tomorrow. It is a lot wetter here then I thought it would be. I managed to put in a ok time for free practise so I will go out there tomorrow and work on improving this for my team.

Chihiro Notsuka 28

The track is a lot muddier here then I thought it would be, it is not quite what I expected Indonesia to be like but I don’t mind riding in the mud so this is ok for me. I am focusing on improving my result from last week as I wasn’t so happy with that so I am just going to go out there and ride by best tomorrow.

Roger Harvey

HRC Advisor - MXGP

Quite a reasonable result for qualifying for Michele considering the conditions that they were out in today. Chihiro looks like he rides quite well in the mud so maybe tomorrow we can expect a good result from him tomorrow. Michele just needs to work to put in consistent results and build on his excellent performance in Qatar.

MX2 2017
Qualifying Round 2   Indonesia

Results Session

Air Temp
Track Cond
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Bogers Brian 189 NDL Team HRC - MXGP Honda 2:16.441
2 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha +4.615
3 Pootjes Davy 46 NDL Team Diga-Procross Husqvarna +6.003
4 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL Team HRC - MX2 Honda +6.320
5 Sterry Adam 811 GBR F&H Racing Team Kawasaki +6.549
6 Paturel Benoit 6 FRA Gebben V Venrooy Kawasaki Kawasaki +6.756
7 Jonass Pauls 41 LAT Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna +8.598
8 Cervellin Michele 747 ITA Yamaha SM Action - M.C. Migliori Yamaha +11.375
9 Van der Vlist Freek 88 NDL Carglass Honda Racing Honda +12.420
10 Larranaga Olano Iker 66 SPA Marchetti Racing Team KTM KTM +14.491
11 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL Team Honda Red Moto Assomotor Honda +14.583
12 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE REVO Husqvarna UK Husqvarna +14.796
13 Brylyakov Vsevolod 18 RUS JWR Yamaha Racing Yamaha +18.769
14 Lawrence Hunter 96 AUS Honda 114 Motorsports Honda +19.815
15 Watson Ben 919 GBR Kemea Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team Yamaha +21.407
16 Vaessen Bas 98 NDL Hitachi KTM fuelled by Milwaukee KTM +21.624
17 Bernardini Samuele 321 ITA Ghidinelli Racing Team Yamaha +21.760
18 Kjer Olsen Thomas 19 DEN Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna +22.099
19 Webster Kyle 23 AUS Wildcard Rider Honda +24.740
20 Notsuka Chihiro 28 JPN Team HRC - MX2 Honda +25.959
Location Information

Pangkal Pinang, Pangkal Pinang City, Bangka Belitung Islands, Indonesia - View in Google Maps