Team HRC’s Tim Gajser and Mitch Evans finished sixth and seventh on this tricky Hyvinkaa track, giving them decent gate-picks for tomorrow’s MXGP of Finland points-scoring races.

The deep sand track had been causing the riders problems all day, with the high temperatures also playing a factor as the world motocross championship returned to Hyvinkaa for the first time in eight years. However, both Honda CRF450R riders acquitted themselves well in timed practice, with Gajser just 0.09 seconds behind first place, and Evans only 0.001 seconds away from lining up next to his teammate.

With second and fourth gate-pick, the pair didn’t get the best of starts but they were able to move inside the top 10 within the first few corners and then started trying to work their way forward from there. Despite having a lot of racing throughout the day, the track was very tight and one-lined for the MXGP class, with passing opportunities at a premium, and as such, the duo couldn’t move through the field as quickly as they would have liked. Instead, as they received the chequered flag, Gajser came through in sixth place, with Evans just behind in seventh.

Knowing that the start will be crucial once again, the aim for the #243 and #43 will be to get out of the gate well and give themselves a chance to fight for the podium spots. Both riders proved they have the speed to win, they just need to be applying that speed nearer the front of this highly competitive MXGP class.

Tomorrow morning, they have a warm-up session, to get used to the track again, before the crucial races begin at 14:10 and 17:15, where Gajser will be aiming to wrap-up his fifth world championship title in just eight years.

Tim Gajser 243

It wasn’t an easy day, with the track being narrow and just not really giving us riders many passing opportunities. I didn’t get the best start and that made my race difficult, but I proved in timed practice I have the speed, I just need to get out front. That’s the goal tomorrow, and hopefully I can do that and have two comfortable races, without having to take too many risks.

Mitch Evans 43

Once again, I was near the front in timed practice, but I couldn’t translate that into the qualification race. I didn’t want to push too hard today, because the gate-pick isn’t too much different at the front, and it is better to save my energy for the races tomorrow as that’s the important time. After last weekend, my confidence is high, I just need to make it happen on the track in both races and that’s what I’ll be trying my best to do.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

This track really got rough today and that made things very difficult for the riders, with mistakes happening regularly across the field. Thankfully, both Tim and Mitch kept things controlled in all three sessions and that will be key tomorrow when the races will be longer and the track will be even rougher. Of course, there is a lot of pressure on Tim, but he is handling it well and we are giving him all the support he needs on this important weekend.

MXGP 2022
Qualifying Round 16   Finland

Qualification Race

Air Temp
Track Cond
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Febvre Romain 3 FRA Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki 24:13.493
2 Bogers Brian 189 NDL Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna 0:09.865
3 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:16.224
4 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:18.061
5 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas 0:20.794
6 Gajser Tim 243 SLO Team HRC - MXGP Honda 0:22.626
7 Evans Mitch 43 AUS Team HRC - MXGP Honda 0:24.273
8 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL Riley Racing Yamaha 0:25.714
9 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:27.138
10 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha 0:33.210
11 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA Honda 114 Motorsports Honda 0:39.020
12 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta 0:44.075
13 Jacobi Henry 29 GER JM Honda Racing Honda 0:47.679
14 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha 0:48.710
15 Forato Alberto 303 ITA SM Action Racing Team Yuasa Battery GasGas 0:50.614
16 Haavisto Jere 142 FIN JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha 0:53.945
17 Watson Ben 919 GBR Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki 0:55.690
18 Koch Tom 226 GER KTM Kozak Team KTM 0:57.400
19 Monticelli Ivo 128 ITA Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki 1:00.041
20 Guadagnini Mattia 101 ITA Husqvarna Junior Racing Maddii Husqvarna 1:02.542
Location Information

Pohjoinen Yhdystie 112, 05880 Hyvinkää, Finland - View in Google Maps