Arroyomolinos, Spain will be hosting the ninth round of the 2022 MXGP World Championship this weekend, where both Team HRC riders will be hoping to rebound from a difficult last round and show their true speed once again.

For Tim Gajser, that means returning to the form that saw him win six of the first seven GPs and go on seven moto win-streak, opening up a gap at the top of the championship that now stands at 79-points. Getting back on top of the podium won’t be easy in this competitive MXGP class, but the Honda CRF450R rider has shown his skills throughout this year already and after a third-place performance last year at the same circuit, he’ll be hoping to go even better at this year’s MXGP of Spain.

Teammate Mitch Evans is also hoping to get some redemption at a track where he didn’t have the best of luck in 2020. Two years ago, in race one, the #43 was riding comfortably in third place and looking for another top five finish before a harsh landing left him with a broken wrist. After a difficult year of rehab, the Australian now has eight rounds under his belt this season and has shown signs that he is returning to that pre-injury speed. A sixth-place moto finish in Maggiora, after fighting through the pack was an excellent result and something he hoped to bring into Sardinia, but after moving up into the top five in race one, the heat became too big of a factor. In Spain, the temperatures should also be around 30C but the terrain is a lot more forgiving and will hopefully allow Evans to showcase his ability as the series moves into its second-half.

After the cancellation of the MXGP of Jakarta, the championship is now 19 rounds, so this ninth round is an important marker for both riders in what they’ve achieved and what they can look forward to as the series progresses. Gajser will be keeping his focus on that fifth world title, while Evans had said that he’ll really be expecting to be approaching his best by the midway point.

The first time the bikes get on track in Spain will be a free practice session on Saturday at 11:20 local time. They will then compete a timed practice for gate-pick for the afternoon qualifying session, which then gives them the gate-pick for the two Sunday afternoon races at 14:15 and 17:10 on May 29th.

Tim Gajser 243

The last round in Sardinia was a tough one. I wasn’t feeling great heading into the race and then with it being such a difficult surface and the temperatures were high, it was just a matter of survival. But I want to put that behind me and just focus on Spain and trying to get back to performing at the level I am used to. The championship is still looking good, which is a massive positive, however I was riding and feeling so good before this past round and enjoying going to the races, so that’s the aim again for Spain.

Mitch Evans 43

This was the round in 2020 which I had my crash, so I feel like I’m owed one at this track and after the results in Sardinia, this would be the perfect place to bounce back and put in the scores I know I am capable of. My riding has been improving every round, it just needs to come together for two full motos and that’s what I’ll be aiming for this weekend in Arroyomolinos. I actually like the track and was doing really well before my injury so the goal is to keep that going and get my best points haul of the season.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

After such a good season so far for Tim, Sardinia was just a reminder that motocross is a tough sport and the level is extremely high, and if you aren’t quite at 100%, it can be a very difficult class to race in. We are confident that he will be much better in Spain though, and despite the temperatures being high once again, the track shouldn’t be quite so demanding. Mitch will also be hoping to do well in Spain after his disappointing results in Sardinia. He was riding really well in that first moto and looking to score his best finish of the season so we are excited to see him get to that level and put it together this weekend.

MXGP 2022

Rider standings

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Gajser Tim 243 SLO 367 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
2 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA 288 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
3 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI 264 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
4 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA 260 Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas
5 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL 234 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
6 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA 213 Honda 114 Motorsports Honda
7 Bogers Brian 189 NDL 205 Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna
8 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL 189 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
9 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL 178 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
10 Jonass Pauls LAT 172
11 Forato Alberto 303 ITA 149 SM Action Racing Team Yuasa Battery GasGas
12 Watson Ben 919 GBR 137 Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki
13 Tixier Jordi 911 FRA 118 JT911 KTM Racing Team KTM
14 Evans Mitch 43 AUS 114 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
15 Jacobi Henry 29 GER 103 JM Honda Racing Honda
16 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL 95 Riley Racing Yamaha
17 Beaton Jed 14 AUS 82 F&H Racing Team Kawasaki
18 Kjer Olsen Thomas 19 DEN 73 Team Diga-Procross KTM
19 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE 56 JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha
20 Koch Tom 226 GER 41 KTM Kozak Team KTM
21 Roosiorg Hardi 75 EST 28 Sahkar KTM Racing KTM
22 Guadagnini Mattia ITA 23
23 Lupino Alessandro 77 ITA 18 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
24 Sihvonen Miro FIN 14
25 Charlier Christophe 23 FRA 13 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
26 Zaragoza Jorge 99 SPA 12 Wildcard Rider Honda
27 Rolando Nicolas 144 URU 10 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
28 Guillod Valentin 92 SWI 10 iXS MXGP Team Yamaha
29 Monticelli Ivo ITA 7
30 Philippaerts David 15 ITA 6 Wildcard Rider Kawasaki
31 Villaronga Sergio CHI 6
32 Leok Tanel EST 6
33 Arco Dario ARG 6
34 Jasikonis Arminas 27 LTU 6 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
35 Martin Humberto VEN 5
36 Trossero Marcos Gabriel ARG 4
37 Toro Lautaro ARG 4
38 Carrasco Agustin ARG 4
39 Zonta Filippo 200 ITA 4 Wildcard Rider GasGas
40 Galletta Pablo 117 ARG 3 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
41 Lapucci Nicholas ITA 3
42 Paturel Benoit FRA 2
43 Cabarcos Francisco 112 ARG 1 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
Location Information