After a start that saw him forced to the tail of the pack, Evgeny Bobryshev was back with his characteristic spirit and determination, fighting through the field from last to recover to sixth on his CRF450RW.

Team HRC’s No.777 rider didn’t make his recovery easy for himself though, with a small crash on the hard-pack track that slipped him back down the order giving him even more work to do. But in a demonstration of the return to fitness and strength he is now enjoying, Bobby was locked in battles right until the line, taking the chequered flag just 0.15 seconds behind fifth place.

Run under sunny skies and temperatures approaching 23 degrees Celsius, the track was in good condition and very fast today. Despite Bobby’s progress suggesting otherwise, passing was made difficult due to only a few possible lines through each corner and tricky patches of wet dirt and stones that caught a few riders out during the qualifying race.

The weather forecast is for more of the same tomorrow, when MXGP race one gets underway at 14:15 local time. The French fans were out in force today in support of their MXGP and local heroes, and more still are expected on race day in this immensely popular venue of Saint Jean d’Angely, just north of Bordeaux.

MXGP 2014
Qualifying Round 9   France

Results Session

Air Temp
Track Cond
Hard Pack
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Cairoli Antonio 222 ITA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2:12.057
2 Desalle Clement 25 BEL Rockstar Energy Suzuki World Suzuki +4.213
3 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha +6.522
4 Frossard Steven 183 FRA Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki +9.654
5 Simpson Shaun 24 GBR Hitachi Construction Machinery KTM UK KTM +45.352
6 Bobryshev Evgeny 777 RUS Team HRC - MXGP Honda +45.599
7 Searle Tommy 100 GBR CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy Kawasaki +48.952
8 Potisek Milko 32 FRA 2B Yamaha Yamaha +50.632
9 Guarneri Davide 39 ITA TM Ricci Racing TM +53.263
10 Philippaerts David 19 ITA DP19 Racing Yamaha +55.703
11 Nicholls Jake 45 GBR Wilvo Forkrent KTM KTM +56.310
12 Strijbos Kevin 22 BEL Rockstar Energy Suzuki World Suzuki +59.217
13 Teillet Valentin 737 FRA Wildcard Rider Kawasaki +1:01.815
14 Boog Xavier 121 FRA 24MX Lucas Oil Honda Honda +1:03.960
15 Rattray Tyla 28 RSA Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna +1:07.489
16 Soubeyras Cedric 120 FRA Wildcard Rider Honda +1:09.110
17 Leok Tanel 3 EST TM Ricci Racing TM +1:09.766
18 Karro Matiss 91 LAT Wilvo Forkrent KTM KTM +1:13.709
19 Ullrich Dennis 149 GER KTM Sarholz KTM +1:14.731
20 Delince Jeremy 126 BEL 24MX Lucas Oil Honda Honda +1:16.423
21 De Dycker Ken 9 BEL Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +1:18.136
22 Goncalves Rui 999 POR Bike It Yamaha Cosworth Yamaha +1:18.595
23 Brakke Herjan 61 NDL CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy Kawasaki +1:36.101
24 Gercar Klemen 62 SLO Honda Jtech Honda +1 lap
25 Pourcel Sebastien 11 FRA Wildcard Rider KTM +6 laps
26 Roelants Joel 34 BEL J-Race Racing Honda +9 laps
27 Izoird Fabien 871 FRA Wildcard Rider Suzuki +9 laps
Location Information

84 Rue de Poursay, 17400 Mazeray, France - View in Google Maps