Mitch Evans led multiple laps on his way to a second-placed finish in the MXGP of Turkiye qualification race, just ahead of his Team HRC teammate Tim Gajser who finished fifth, in a strong performance for the Honda CRF450R pair.

As always, the temperatures were high in Afyonkarahisar, but that didn’t deter the Team HRC duo from putting in some blisteringly fast laptimes in timed practice, with Evans and Gajser ending the session first and second respectively. This gave them the top two gate-picks for the qualification race on this hard-pack track that didn’t seem as deeply ripped as in previous years.

At over 1000m above sea-level, the altitude adds to the difficulty level of this event, but that didn’t stop the pair from rounding the first lap around the top five. Evans had done particularly well on the opening lap to put himself right on the rear tyre of the leader and that’s where he stayed until two-thirds of the race when he moved into P1. The Australian then looked on his way to take a second qualification race win of the season, but a small error in line choice on the last lap allowed the rider behind him to come through and instead the Australian will line up in second place for tomorrow’s motos.

Gajser wasn’t able to come through the field quite as well as his teammate and instead settled for a fifth place in the race, not wishing to push too hard when the points are at stake in the two motos on Sunday. He proved with his timed practice time that he has the speed to win motos, just like he has done in previous years here, so now it will just be a case of putting himself in a position to win when the gate drops tomorrow.

Mitch Evans 43

Finishing second is great, but I know I should have been first, and that’s a bit frustrating. A small mistake on the last lap dropped me a spot and I had to settle for P2 when I crossed the line. Still, my speed was good all day, having the fastest lap in timed practice so I just have to concentrate on the starts tomorrow and if I can get near the front, I know I can win the motos.

Tim Gajser 243

Solid day today, finishing in fifth in the qualification. It isn’t ideal but after the first lap it was very difficult to make up any time, or pass anyone so I just settled into a pace and couldn’t really work my way forward. Hopefully the track will be a bit better for racing tomorrow and more lines develop, and then I can try and finish this title-winning season strongly.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

It was great to see Mitch and Tim finish first and second in timed practice today, giving them first and second gate pick for the qualification races. Unfortunately, they couldn’t replicate that in the qualifying race, but second and fifth is still good and gives them both a chance to get good results in the important motos tomorrow.

MXGP 2022
Qualifying Round 18   Turkey

Qualification Race

Air Temp
Track Cond
Hard Pack
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 23:49.609
2 Evans Mitch 43 AUS Team HRC - MXGP Honda 0:04.114
3 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:08.819
4 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA Honda 114 Motorsports Honda 0:10.953
5 Gajser Tim 243 SLO Team HRC - MXGP Honda 0:12.864
6 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:15.745
7 Guillod Valentin 92 SWI iXS MXGP Team Yamaha 0:15.954
8 Febvre Romain 3 FRA Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki 0:23.306
9 Jonass Pauls 41 LAT Standing Construct GasGas Factory Racing Team GasGas 0:25.772
10 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha 0:28.698
11 Forato Alberto 303 ITA SM Action Racing Team Yuasa Battery GasGas 0:30.701
12 Bogers Brian 189 NDL Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna 0:31.513
13 Guadagnini Mattia 101 ITA Husqvarna Junior Racing Maddii Husqvarna 0:32.342
14 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas 0:43.075
15 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha 0:48.279
16 Monticelli Ivo 128 ITA Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki 0:51.079
17 Jacobi Henry 29 GER JM Honda Racing Honda 0:52.859
18 Lapucci Nicholas 211 ITA Steels - Dr. Jack Racing KTM 1:03.969
19 Watson Ben 919 GBR Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki 1:41.005
20 Kouzis Panagiotis 38 GRE Wildcard Rider Honda 1 Lap
Location Information

Sadıkbey Mahallesi, Dörtyol Mah. Turgut Özal Cad., Afyon Yeni Şehir Stadyumu Yanı, 03200 Merkez/Afyonkarahisar - View in Google Maps