Team HRC’s Tim Gajser and Mitch Evans head to Afyonkarahisar in Turkey for what is the final round of this 2022 MXGP World Championship. In Gajser’s case, it has been an immensely successful campaign, winning 14 motos, nine rounds and wrapping up the title with two rounds to go. And while Evans hasn’t been able to achieve all of his goals, he can still hold his head up high in the knowledge that he has improved significantly as the season has gone on.

Both riders will be looking to finish the season on the podium, which would be the #243’s 13th visit to the box in just 18 rounds. He is the only rider to have held the red-plate and a victory on this Afyon track – a circuit where he has won motos previously – would really seal his position as not just the premier rider in 2022, but also as the most successful rider in recent times, after winning three of the last four MXGP titles. His victory in St Jean D’Angely in the last round, was a true sign that when he is riding at his best, very few can match him, and he’ll be hoping for a repeat performance in what is his final race of the year.

For Evans, he’ll be hoping he can finish on the podium in Turkey, to give himself a nice boost as he heads to the Motocross of Nations in September, where he’ll be representing Australia. The Honda CRF450R rider has been close to the box on numerous occasions in 2022, and with just this round remaining, it is his last chance to get the rewards that all his hard work deserves, after recovering from a serious wrist injury that ruled him out for the entire 2021 campaign.

With temperatures around 30C over the weekend, the riders will need to be at their best in every one of the on-track sessions. First up is the free practice, followed by timed practice which gives the gate-pick for the Saturday evening qualifying race. The result of this race then gives the gate-pick for the two motos which take place on Sunday afternoon at 14:15 and 17:10 local time.

Tim Gajser 243

It’s been another amazing season and I’m really hoping to end it on a high. The last round in France was the perfect result, proving to everyone that I can win again, and for myself to just enjoy my riding after the last few pressure-filled rounds. I really like the Turkey track and it should be a great place to finish this season. Everyone has worked so hard these past couple of years and it’ll be nice to have a bit more of a gap before the start of the 2023 campaign. A big thank you to everyone in Team HRC, for their continued efforts!

Mitch Evans 43

I’ve been putting a bit too much pressure on myself these past few races, trying to do too much, too soon. So now, for Turkey, I just want to take it back a notch and just go out there and let things happen. Obviously, I want to do well, but I’m hoping that I can ride a bit freer and that should just allow me to challenge at the front of the field. It’s certainly been a testing season, but I’ve still learnt a lot, and while the results haven’t always been what I wanted, I know I’ve always tried my best.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

It’s been another long, tough but successful season, and we are all heading to Turkey to finish this 2022 season off strongly. Tim really showed everyone his champion-mentality to win in France last time out and we are hoping he can do that again and break even more records this season. Mitch has been knocking on the door of the podium for these last few rounds and we are all really hoping he can make that final step and get it done this weekend. I would like to thank everyone in Japan and everyone in the team who has kept working so hard and maintained such a high level of performance this year. It hasn’t been easy but we have a great group of people and I think that shows in our work ethic and our results.

MXGP 2022

Rider standings

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Gajser Tim 243 SLO 721 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
2 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI 615 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
3 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA 557 Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas
4 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL 553 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
5 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA 540 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
6 Bogers Brian 189 NDL 406 Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna
7 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA 380 Honda 114 Motorsports Honda
8 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL 378 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
9 Jonass Pauls LAT 350
10 Evans Mitch 43 AUS 296 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
11 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL 265 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
12 Watson Ben 919 GBR 260 Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki
13 Forato Alberto 303 ITA 250 SM Action Racing Team Yuasa Battery GasGas
14 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL 249 Riley Racing Yamaha
15 Jacobi Henry 29 GER 216 JM Honda Racing Honda
16 Febvre Romain FRA 212
17 Tixier Jordi 911 FRA 197 JT911 KTM Racing Team KTM
18 Beaton Jed 14 AUS 190 F&H Racing Team Kawasaki
19 Guadagnini Mattia ITA 170
20 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE 107 JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha
21 Koch Tom 226 GER 87 KTM Kozak Team KTM
22 Kjer Olsen Thomas 19 DEN 73 Team Diga-Procross KTM
23 Guillod Valentin 92 SWI 73 iXS MXGP Team Yamaha
24 Monticelli Ivo ITA 53
25 Paturel Benoit FRA 38
26 Roosiorg Hardi 75 EST 32 Sahkar KTM Racing KTM
27 Lapucci Nicholas ITA 31
28 Kullas Harri FIN 21
29 Lupino Alessandro 77 ITA 18 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
30 Sihvonen Miro FIN 18
31 Charlier Christophe 23 FRA 17 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
32 Zaragoza Jorge 99 SPA 12 Wildcard Rider Honda
33 Rolando Nicolas 144 URU 10 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
34 Genot Cyril 105 BEL 9 Honda SR Motoblouz Honda
35 Haavisto Jere FIN 9
36 Brumann Kevin 87 SWI 8 hostettler Yamaha Racing Yamaha
37 Villaronga Sergio CHI 6
38 Philippaerts David 15 ITA 6 Wildcard Rider Kawasaki
39 Arco Dario ARG 6
40 Leok Tanel EST 6
41 Jasikonis Arminas 27 LTU 6 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
42 Martin Humberto VEN 5
43 Trossero Marcos Gabriel ARG 4
44 Toro Lautaro ARG 4
45 Carrasco Agustin ARG 4
46 Zonta Filippo 200 ITA 4 Wildcard Rider GasGas
47 Galletta Pablo 117 ARG 3 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
48 Sterry Adam GBR 3
49 Locurcio Lorenzo VEN 2
50 Herbreteau David FRA 2
51 Van der Mierden Sven NDL 1
52 Cabarcos Francisco 112 ARG 1 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
53 Drdaj Dusan 188 CZE 1 Wildcard Rider GasGas
54 Tropepe Giuseppe ITA 1
Location Information

Sadıkbey Mahallesi, Dörtyol Mah. Turgut Özal Cad., Afyon Yeni Şehir Stadyumu Yanı, 03200 Merkez/Afyonkarahisar - View in Google Maps