After all the celebrations from Tim Gajser’s fifth world championship title in Hyvinkaa, Finland last weekend, Team HRC’s focus is now fully on the penultimate round of the series, to be held at the familiar venue of St Jean D’Angely in France.

In one of the most competitive eras in motocross history, for Gajser to make it three championships in four years is an amazing achievement, and like his previous titles, his ability to wrap it up early takes all the pressure off these last two rounds, giving him a great chance to add to his already unmatchable 13 race wins and eight overall GP victories. And having won the last GP to be held at the St Jean D’Angely track, in 2019, he is really looking forward to getting back to winning ways in front of what is sure to be a packed hillside of French fans.

For teammate Mitch Evans, Finland certainly wasn’t his best outing but he is now channelling that frustration into some positive energy for these last two rounds of the season. Setting himself a goal of getting on the podium in 2022, the Australian has put in some really good rides, without gaining the rewards he deserved. Now though, he is determined to put that right, and that starts this weekend where he will be looking to show-off his speed at every opportunity.

In what is the third of three back-to-back rounds, the hard-pack hilly venue of St Jean D’Angely always provides entertainment for the passionate French supporters who line themselves up all around this historic track. And when the gate-drops on Sunday 21st August, Team HRC will be hoping that they’ll be two Honda CRF450Rs up the front of the field, battling for victory.

Tim Gajser 243

After winning the championship last weekend, I feel like a lot of the pressure has gone and I can concentrate on just the races, rather than the whole points situation. So, I hope for France this weekend and the final round in Turkey, I can get back to winning ways and add to my eight overall victories so far in 2022. The response after winning the title has been amazing, and I just want to thank everyone for all their messages. I still can’t believe it was my fifth title and I’m so thankful to have all the support from my team, and from all the fans around the world.

Mitch Evans 43

Finland really didn’t go my way, but I’m still feeling good about these last two rounds and that’s what I’m putting all of my effort into. I really want to get a podium before the end of the season so that’s what I’ll looking for in St Jean D’Angely this weekend. I also want to say a big congratulations to my teammate Tim for winning the championship in Finland. Being with him every weekend, I know first-hand how much work he puts in, so he fully deserves it.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

It was awesome for Tim to win the title with two rounds still to race, he’s done so well all year and it’s amazing what he’s been able to accomplish in his career. Five world titles at his age puts him up there with the very best of our sport and he still has plenty of time to climb even higher. It is a pleasure to work alongside him and we all hope he can add to even more championships under the Team HRC awning. Now we are focused on him and Mitch doing as best they can in St Jean D’Angely this weekend, and we are confident they can both be successful.

MXGP 2022

Rider standings

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Gajser Tim 243 SLO 674 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
2 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI 570 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
3 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL 525 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
4 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA 517 Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas
5 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA 506 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
6 Bogers Brian 189 NDL 391 Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna
7 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA 359 Honda 114 Motorsports Honda
8 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL 351 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
9 Jonass Pauls LAT 325
10 Evans Mitch 43 AUS 272 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
11 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL 265 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
12 Watson Ben 919 GBR 252 Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki
13 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL 238 Riley Racing Yamaha
14 Forato Alberto 303 ITA 227 SM Action Racing Team Yuasa Battery GasGas
15 Jacobi Henry 29 GER 208 JM Honda Racing Honda
16 Tixier Jordi 911 FRA 197 JT911 KTM Racing Team KTM
17 Febvre Romain FRA 176
18 Beaton Jed 14 AUS 176 F&H Racing Team Kawasaki
19 Guadagnini Mattia ITA 154
20 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE 107 JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha
21 Koch Tom 226 GER 80 KTM Kozak Team KTM
22 Kjer Olsen Thomas 19 DEN 73 Team Diga-Procross KTM
23 Guillod Valentin 92 SWI 73 iXS MXGP Team Yamaha
24 Monticelli Ivo ITA 50
25 Paturel Benoit FRA 38
26 Roosiorg Hardi 75 EST 32 Sahkar KTM Racing KTM
27 Lapucci Nicholas ITA 31
28 Lupino Alessandro 77 ITA 18 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
29 Sihvonen Miro FIN 18
30 Charlier Christophe 23 FRA 17 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
31 Kullas Harri FIN 15
32 Zaragoza Jorge 99 SPA 12 Wildcard Rider Honda
33 Rolando Nicolas 144 URU 10 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
34 Genot Cyril 105 BEL 9 Honda SR Motoblouz Honda
35 Haavisto Jere FIN 9
36 Villaronga Sergio CHI 6
37 Philippaerts David 15 ITA 6 Wildcard Rider Kawasaki
38 Arco Dario ARG 6
39 Leok Tanel EST 6
40 Jasikonis Arminas 27 LTU 6 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
41 Brumann Kevin 87 SWI 6 hostettler Yamaha Racing Yamaha
42 Martin Humberto VEN 5
43 Toro Lautaro ARG 4
44 Trossero Marcos Gabriel ARG 4
45 Carrasco Agustin ARG 4
46 Zonta Filippo 200 ITA 4 Wildcard Rider GasGas
47 Sterry Adam GBR 3
48 Galletta Pablo 117 ARG 3 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
49 Locurcio Lorenzo VEN 2
50 Tropepe Giuseppe ITA 1
51 Cabarcos Francisco 112 ARG 1 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
52 Drdaj Dusan 188 CZE 1 Wildcard Rider GasGas
53 Van der Mierden Sven NDL 1
Location Information

84 Rue de Poursay, 17400 Mazeray, France - View in Google Maps