Tim Gajser and Mitch Evans both put in strong qualification races to give themselves good gate picks for tomorrow’s points-scoring motos, as the duo went two-seven respectively at the tough Riola Sardo circuit in Sardinia, Italy.

The Team HRC pair came into this MXGP of Sardegna with renewed confidence after a positive MXGP of Italy last weekend, but they knew it wouldn’t be easy as the deep sand terrain provided the most difficult challenge for the riders last year and with high temperatures forecast for the weekend, it really would be a test for man and machine.

Onboard their Honda CRF450R’s Gajser and Evans had decent timed practices, giving them fourth and twelfth gate-picks for the 20-minute qualification race. For the Slovenian, who is enjoying a current seven-moto win-streak, the aim of today was to put himself in a position to be able to continue that, whilst conserving as much energy as possible for the two motos tomorrow. And that is exactly what the #243 achieved, rounding the first turn inside the top three, before moving into second-place halfway through the moto. He pressured the leader a little bit, but decided second was good enough and settled for that as they crossed the line.

Evans was able to get himself into the top 10 as they rounded the first corner, which was an improvement over previous rounds and a positive start after a lot of work during the week. The Australian didn’t find his groove straight-away but once he got into the rhythm of the track, he was able to make a few passes and was even the fastest rider on the track nearing the end of the race. This gave him seventh place and a solid base to build upon for the races tomorrow, both of which should also be hot temperatures and difficult track conditions. First up though will be a morning warm-up at 10:45 before the two races at 14:15 and 17:10, for what is the eighth round of this 2022 MXGP World Championship.

Tim Gajser 243

It was a hot day today, in tough track conditions so I’m happy to finish in second place and set myself up nicely for tomorrow’s races. My speed was good all day long and I got a good start in the race and just kept it steady, not trying to push too hard and saving some energy for the gate-drops in what should be similarly hot conditions for tomorrow’s motos. I made one pass but it was actually tough to make too many passes as the track didn’t develop so many lines so I stayed in second and look forward to pushing a bit more tomorrow, when I can hopefully continue my winning run.

Mitch Evans 43

This is the first time I’ve raced a deep sand track since Valkenswaard in 2020, so it took a little bit of time to get the feeling back, but once I relaxed and rode a bit smoother, the speed increased and I could make my way through the field again. I’m hoping that the starts will go a bit better from seventh gate pick and then I can keep up my speed in the longer motos and really start challenging the top five positions. The temperature is a lot hotter than any race we’ve had so far this year so that makes things harder but I’m feeling better about my riding and excited to see what I can achieve tomorrow.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas

HRC General Manager - MXGP

We always knew that with the high temperatures and this tough surface that it would be a difficult day, but we’re proud of the races by Tim and Mitch. Obviously, after all his recent successes, it would be easy to think that second isn’t enough but it was good to see Tim not push too hard and risk anything today and put more of his energy into the points-races. Mitch has really been working hard on getting out the gate better, and while it didn’t come off today, we have made improvements and if he can combine that with this momentum he is having late in the races, we are looking forward to seeing how high he can place tomorrow. Overall, a solid day for Team HRC.

MXGP 2022
Qualifying Round 8   Sardegna

Qualification Race

Air Temp
Track Cond
Deep Sand
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha 24:45.230
2 Gajser Tim 243 SLO Team HRC - MXGP Honda 0:03.241
3 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:07.535
4 Bogers Brian 189 NDL Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna 0:08.810
5 Jonass Pauls LAT 0:21.193
6 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 0:23.441
7 Evans Mitch 43 AUS Team HRC - MXGP Honda 0:27.577
8 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas 0:31.443
9 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA Honda 114 Motorsports Honda 0:32.131
10 Jacobi Henry 29 GER JM Honda Racing Honda 0:35.805
11 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL Riley Racing Yamaha 0:37.030
12 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta 0:43.024
13 Guadagnini Mattia ITA 0:49.707
14 Watson Ben 919 GBR Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki 0:51.037
15 Jasikonis Arminas 27 LTU Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha 0:56.741
16 Charlier Christophe 23 FRA Wildcard Rider Yamaha 1:06.881
17 Roosiorg Hardi 75 EST Sahkar KTM Racing KTM 1:15.233
18 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha 1:23.699
19 Sihvonen Miro FIN 1:35.321
20 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha 2 Laps
MXGP 2022

Rider standings

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Gajser Tim 243 SLO 336 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
2 Renaux Maxime 959 FRA 255 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
3 Seewer Jeremy 91 SWI 231 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
4 Prado Garcia Jorge 61 SPA 220 Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing GasGas
5 Coldenhoff Glenn 259 NDL 199 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
6 Fernandez Ruben 70 SPA 194 Honda 114 Motorsports Honda
7 Bogers Brian 189 NDL 173 Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing Team Husqvarna
8 Van Horebeek Jeremy 89 BEL 166 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
9 Jonass Pauls LAT 149
10 Forato Alberto 303 ITA 132 SM Action Racing Team Yuasa Battery GasGas
11 Watson Ben 919 GBR 130 Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP Kawasaki
12 Vlaanderen Calvin 10 NDL 128 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
13 Evans Mitch 43 AUS 114 Team HRC - MXGP Honda
14 Tixier Jordi 911 FRA 105 JT911 KTM Racing Team KTM
15 Jacobi Henry 29 GER 93 JM Honda Racing Honda
16 Beaton Jed 14 AUS 82 F&H Racing Team Kawasaki
17 van Doninck Brent 32 BEL 80 Riley Racing Yamaha
18 Kjer Olsen Thomas 19 DEN 73 Team Diga-Procross KTM
19 Koch Tom 226 GER 41 KTM Kozak Team KTM
20 Östlund Alvin 161 SWE 39 JK Racing Yamaha Active Yamaha
21 Roosiorg Hardi 75 EST 23 Sahkar KTM Racing KTM
22 Lupino Alessandro 77 ITA 18 Beta SDM Corse MX Team Beta
23 Zaragoza Jorge 99 SPA 12 Wildcard Rider Honda
24 Rolando Nicolas 144 URU 10 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
25 Guillod Valentin 92 SWI 10 iXS MXGP Team Yamaha
26 Sihvonen Miro FIN 9
27 Monticelli Ivo ITA 7
28 Philippaerts David 15 ITA 6 Wildcard Rider Kawasaki
29 Villaronga Sergio CHI 6
30 Leok Tanel EST 6
31 Arco Dario ARG 6
32 Charlier Christophe 23 FRA 5 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
33 Martin Humberto VEN 5
34 Toro Lautaro ARG 4
35 Trossero Marcos Gabriel ARG 4
36 Carrasco Agustin ARG 4
37 Zonta Filippo 200 ITA 4 Wildcard Rider GasGas
38 Galletta Pablo 117 ARG 3 Wildcard Rider Yamaha
39 Jasikonis Arminas 27 LTU 3 Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha Racing Yamaha
40 Lapucci Nicholas ITA 3
41 Paturel Benoit FRA 2
42 Cabarcos Francisco 112 ARG 1 Wildcard Rider Suzuki
Location Information